Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Adelaide's Secret World
Cover of Adelaide's Secret World
Adelaide's Secret World
Borrow
A gorgeously illustrated picture book about creativity, making connections, and finding friendship. Sure to appeal to fans of Shaun Tan or Aaron Becker.
With a poetic story and lush paintings, Elise Hurst conveys how a bit of bravery, empathy, and imagination can transform our lives.
Adelaide lives in a city filled with people and wonders, but she is lonely. She is a watcher, and she sees others like her: the quiet ones, those who dance and dream alone.
In a chance encounter, Adelaide meets someone who just might be a kindred spirit—and is so startled and shy she runs away! But then she gathers her courage and uses all her ingenuity to make sure that they—and all the other lonely ones—meet and connect and share their dreams.
A gorgeously illustrated picture book about creativity, making connections, and finding friendship. Sure to appeal to fans of Shaun Tan or Aaron Becker.
With a poetic story and lush paintings, Elise Hurst conveys how a bit of bravery, empathy, and imagination can transform our lives.
Adelaide lives in a city filled with people and wonders, but she is lonely. She is a watcher, and she sees others like her: the quiet ones, those who dance and dream alone.
In a chance encounter, Adelaide meets someone who just might be a kindred spirit—and is so startled and shy she runs away! But then she gathers her courage and uses all her ingenuity to make sure that they—and all the other lonely ones—meet and connect and share their dreams.
Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
    600
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:
    2 - 3

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • ELISE HURST is an illustrator and author of children's books, as well as a traditional artist. She has illustrated over fifty books over the years, including Imagine a City, and The Night Garden, which received a Children's Book Council of Australia shortlisting. She lives in Melbourne with her husband, Peter, and their twin boys. You can read more about her work at elisehurst.com or follow her on twitter at @EliseHurstArtistillustrator.
Reviews-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    November 27, 2017
    A slender, humanlike rabbit named Adelaide works in a small storefront
    that was once bustling, “but over time, Adelaide found herself all alone, and the quiet stillness crept into her heart and stayed.” She crafts tiny figurines of other lonely animals she sees in her city, including a solitary fox who sits near her shop. When he drops his book, she returns it, but she’s too overcome to speak. That evening, a strange storm gives Adelaide fresh inspiration and the courage to change. Australian artist Hurst’s painterly spreads are lush and bewitching. Her story unfolds in an alternate world in which curiosities lurk in unexpected corners: Chinese junks ply the air above the city, and a school of goldfish floats outside Adelaide’s shop window. The rabbit’s unexplained shyness and sense of loss may puzzle some readers; her deep feelings for the fox offer hints of romance. As sunshine breaks through the clouds, Adelaide has festooned her city with lengths of red ribbon, bringing its citizens together. It’s a cryptic conclusion, but Hurst’s dazzling images will leave readers eager to puzzle out the mysteries of Adelaide’s world. Ages 5–9.

  • Kirkus

    November 15, 2017
    Amid a teeming city, bustling with smartly dressed bears, foxes, cats, humans, and ostriches, rabbit Adelaide spends each day alone in her workshop safely behind a soft, red curtain. This rabbit's sensitivity, her glistening, emotive eyes, and her pert ears bring to mind other anthropomorphized bunnies: Margery Williams and William Nicholson's Velveteen Rabbit, Beatrix Potter's rabbit broods, DuBose Heyward and Marjorie Flack's country bunny and her little gold shoes, and even the psychological complexity of the scrambling rabbits of Watership Down. Moving, impressionistic oil paintings endow Adelaide with the same searing sentience, pathos, and intellect of these antecedents. Her wrenching isolation, loneliness, and ultimate desire for connection make this picture book perfectly suited for older readers. Fantastic flourishes will appeal to children of all ages; fish and sailboats fly through the streets, animals populate an urban city center, while a fox and Adelaide unknowingly document each other's lives through art. When a storm blows, forcing them to collide, readers' human hearts sing. Masterful artwork, streaked with breathtaking brush strokes and daubs of pigment, easily makes up for sometimes-unimaginative language. These portraits of animals struggling with human feelings startle with their emotional exactitude, empathy, and expert execution.Complex feelings articulated through heart-rending paintings that beg return visits. (Picture book. 5-14)

    COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    January 1, 2018

    K-Gr 2-Adelaide, an elegant rabbit, lives alone in a formerly busy storefront that used to manufacture and sell small music boxes and other objets d'art. As an adult, she finds herself living a solitary existence where she observes life without taking part. From her window or a high vantage point, Adelaide watches other members of her community which includes humans as well as elephants, bears, foxes, and other rabbits. One day, her loneliness drives her outdoors and when the weather turns nasty, she makes a connection that turns her world around. Charming painterly surrealistic illustrations reveal Adelaide sitting on her rooftop greeting the day while a gondola sails through the sky and fish swim in schools high in the air. Hurst's paintings are impressive as they range from the smallest details to seemingly loose brushstrokes that reveal realistic windowpanes, rain, wind, and puddles on the street. Adelaide's candles that she arranges on her rooftop glow with warmth and light in red, orange, and yellow. VERDICT This quiet story about at how reaching out to others improves one's own life will encourage children in taking the first step toward friendship. Best shared one-on-one to pore over the lovely artwork.-Maryann H. Owen, Oak Creek Public Library WI

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Masterful... These portraits of animals struggling with human feelings startle with their emotional exactitude, empathy, and expert execution. Complex feelings articulated through heart-rending paintings that beg return visits."
  • Publishers Weekly "Hurst's painterly spreads are lush and bewitching."
  • Jill R Bennett, Red Reading Hub There's a near sublime quality about Elise Hurst's oil-paintings and the way in which these, interwoven with her equally poetic words, create a synergy that moved this particular reviewer to tears and at the same time, fuelled a determination to continue working as a bridge builder in the spirit of Adelaide."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Random House Children's Books
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 7 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Adelaide's Secret World
Adelaide's Secret World
Elise Hurst
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel