Spacer Image

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Spacer Image

  Main Nav
Biblical
Cover of Biblical
Biblical
A Novel
Borrow Borrow

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Margaret Atwood comes this apocalyptic thriller that pits cutting-edge science against God and asks, who will win?

A strange phenomenon is sweeping the globe. People are having visions, seeing angels, experiencing events that defy reality. Bizarre accounts pour in from distant places: a French teenager claims to have witnessed Joan of Arc being burned at the stake; a man in New York dies of malnutrition in a luxurious Central Park apartment; a fundamentalist Christian sect kidnaps and murders a geneticist.

Then there is the graffito We Are Becoming that has popped up in every major city around the world, in every language. And everywhere people are starting to talk about John Astor, the mysterious author of the book that seems to be at the center of it all.

After a rash of suicides around the world by individuals experiencing time-traveling hallucinations, psychiatrist John Macbeth and a team of FBI agents and scientists assemble to find out what's going on before it's too late. Is this a spiritual phenomenon—or something more sinister?

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Margaret Atwood comes this apocalyptic thriller that pits cutting-edge science against God and asks, who will win?

A strange phenomenon is sweeping the globe. People are having visions, seeing angels, experiencing events that defy reality. Bizarre accounts pour in from distant places: a French teenager claims to have witnessed Joan of Arc being burned at the stake; a man in New York dies of malnutrition in a luxurious Central Park apartment; a fundamentalist Christian sect kidnaps and murders a geneticist.

Then there is the graffito We Are Becoming that has popped up in every major city around the world, in every language. And everywhere people are starting to talk about John Astor, the mysterious author of the book that seems to be at the center of it all.

After a rash of suicides around the world by individuals experiencing time-traveling hallucinations, psychiatrist John Macbeth and a team of FBI agents and scientists assemble to find out what's going on before it's too late. Is this a spiritual phenomenon—or something more sinister?

Available formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Subjects-
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Christopher Galt is the pseudonym of Craig Russell, whose mystery novels have been translated into twenty-three languages and have won many prestigious awards, including the CWA Dagger in the Library. In 2007 he was nominated for the CWA Duncan Lawrie Golden Dagger as well as the Prix SNCF Polar in France. He was recently nominated for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger.

Reviews-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from August 4, 2014
    The pseudonymous Galt, the author of two crimes series under his real name of Craig Russell, successfully juggles a wide cast of fully developed characters in this inventive near-future thriller. Around the world, people in all walks of life begin having unusual visions—of the immolation of Joan of Arc, or, in the case of U.S. President Elizabeth Yates, of William Taft, in shirtsleeves, walking a dog on the White House lawn. Yates’s hallucinations have national security implications, as they call her fitness to govern into question, and psychiatrist Josh Hoberman is summoned to a secret meeting in D.C. to offer his guidance. The ante is upped when people begin to have tangible manifestations of the visions (e.g., a woman who believes she survived an earthquake that never happened has her arm broken by masonry that never fell). Few readers will anticipate the jaw-dropping conclusion, and fans of thoughtful scientific thrillers will hope Galt will continue in the genre. Agent: Noah Ballard, Emma Sweeney Agency.

  • Publishers Weekly (starred review) "The pseudonymous Galt, the author of two crimes series under his real name of Craig Russell, successfully juggles a wide cast of fully developed characters in this inventive near-future thriller...Few readers will anticipate the jaw-dropping conclusion, and fans of thoughtful scientific thrillers will hope Galt will continue in the genre."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Blackstone Audio
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 7 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Biblical
Biblical
A Novel
Christopher Galt
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel