Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Float
Cover of Float
Float
Borrow Borrow

From the critically acclaimed author of the Edge of Extinction series comes this fast-paced, action-packed, and heartfelt adventure about a group of kids with uncontrollable abilities, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman, Lisa McMann, and Dan Gutman!

Emerson can float...he just can't do it very well.

His uncontrollable floating is his RISK factor, which means that he deals with Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind. The last place Emerson wants to be is at a government-mandated summer camp for RISK kids like him, so he's shocked when he actually starts having fun at camp—and he even makes some new friends.

But it's not all canoeing and capture the flag at Camp Outlier. The summer of fun takes a serious turn when Emerson and his friends discover that one of their own is hiding a deadly secret that puts all of their lives in danger.

It's up to the Red Maple boys to save themselves—and everyone like them.

From the critically acclaimed author of the Edge of Extinction series comes this fast-paced, action-packed, and heartfelt adventure about a group of kids with uncontrollable abilities, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman, Lisa McMann, and Dan Gutman!

Emerson can float...he just can't do it very well.

His uncontrollable floating is his RISK factor, which means that he deals with Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind. The last place Emerson wants to be is at a government-mandated summer camp for RISK kids like him, so he's shocked when he actually starts having fun at camp—and he even makes some new friends.

But it's not all canoeing and capture the flag at Camp Outlier. The summer of fun takes a serious turn when Emerson and his friends discover that one of their own is hiding a deadly secret that puts all of their lives in danger.

It's up to the Red Maple boys to save themselves—and everyone like them.

Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
    840
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:
    4 - 5

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Laura Martin is a mom by day and a middle grade author by night, although in her heart she will always be a seventh-grade language arts teacher. After spending six years teaching the fine art of dream chasing as a teacher, she is enjoying every minute of this lifelong dream of being an author. She lives in the Indianapolis area with her family. You can connect with her on Instagram @LauraMartinBooks or at www.lauramartinbooks.com.

Reviews-
  • Kirkus

    March 1, 2018
    A cabin full of boys with uncontrollable powers races to change the future in this new adventure from Martin (Code Name Flood, 2017, etc.).At Camp Outlier, everyone's a RISK. The "recurring incidents of the strange kind" vary. Some kids spontaneously combust, and others have X-ray vision. Twelve-year-old Emerson floats unless he wears a weighted vest to keep him grounded. When his mom drops him off for two and a half months of government-supervised fun, Emerson discovers that, for the first time, he doesn't feel out of place. His cabin bands together to win the capture-the-flag tournament and to save their new friend Murphy, a time traveler doomed to disappear forever if they can't find a way to change his future. The summer-camp setting recalls Camp Half-Blood of the Percy Jackson series, though with far less gender diversity. Although the boys occasionally interact with a cabin of girls, the female characters come across as props in a world where heterosexuality is an unquestioned norm. In one scene, the older campers force Emerson's cabin into dresses and makeup for their camp initiation. This scene returns as a recurring joke throughout the book. Overall, a retrograde sense of masculinity overshadows what might otherwise be a story about finding kinship and self-confidence. Although the book assumes a white default, some of the campers are diverse.The plot may be about trying to change the future, but the patriarchal themes in this action story are stuck in the past. (Fantasy. 8-12)

    COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    March 1, 2018

    Gr 4-6-Emerson floats. Unfortunately, he has almost no control over his floating, which makes it a Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind (RISK) factor. He and other kids like him are sent to Camp Outlier where the government can keep a close eye on them. It's a motley crew in Emerson's cabin: Gary is sticky, Hank can't control his invisibility, Zeke has sporadic X-ray vision, and Anthony is a human torch. For once in his life, Emerson feels like he finally fits in. With lots of action, great dialogue, and plenty of humor, Martin's style and tone are reminiscent of Gordon Korman and Dan Gutman. VERDICT With a great premise and solid writing, this should be a popular addition to the middle grade collections.-Jane Hebert, Glenside Public Library District, Glendale Heights, IL

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    April 2, 2018
    In this lighthearted middle grade romp, kids with super powers enjoy a fun-filled summer at a camp designed to accommodate their special needs. Twelve-year-old Emerson’s ability to float marks him as a RISK—a reoccurring incident of the strange kind—forced to wear weighted shoes and a vest just to stay on the ground. At Camp Outlier, he’s surrounded by people just like him, cursed with powers they can’t control, such as the accidentally invisible Hank, the spontaneously combusting Anthony, and the time-traveling Murphy. As members of the Red Maple cabin, they bond through hazing rituals, pranks, and the usual camp-sponsored activities. However, when they discover an unsettling secret involving Murphy’s intermittent trips through time, Emerson and the others must find a way to change his fate. While there’s an underlying tension involving the unknown tragedy in Murphy’s future, the real heart of the story is in the idyllic satisfaction Emerson feels as he makes friends and lives life to the fullest, eschewing electronic devices for adventures in the great outdoors. Drawing from her father’s stories of childhood escapades, Martin (Code Name Flood) conjures a sense of wonder and whimsy, even as she reminds readers that her characters’ powers are as much a blessing as they are a curse. Ages 8–12.

  • John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day "A fun, funny, and fast-paced summer camp romp full of pranks, plot-twists and goofy superpowers. Emerson's adventures (and misadventures) teach us that the greatest power of all comes from the friends who push us to overcome our perceived limitations and make the most of every moment."
  • School Library Journal "With lots of action, great dialogue, and plenty of humor, Martin's style and tone are reminiscent of Gordon Korman and Dan Gutman."
  • Publishers Weekly "Martin conjures a sense of wonder and whimsy."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 7 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Float
Float
Laura Martin
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel