Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav

My Unscripted Life

Cover of My Unscripted Life

My Unscripted Life

Perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, you'll love this funny and sweet contemporary romance about a Southern girl ready for a ho-hum summer until she meets the boy of her dreams who happens to be an international pop star.
Sometimes love stories go off script.

Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she'd gone away, she wouldn't have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.

It's not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she's just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there's a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there's more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . . .
From the Hardcover edition.
Perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, you'll love this funny and sweet contemporary romance about a Southern girl ready for a ho-hum summer until she meets the boy of her dreams who happens to be an international pop star.
Sometimes love stories go off script.

Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she'd gone away, she wouldn't have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.

It's not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she's just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there's a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there's more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . . .
From the Hardcover edition.
Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you


Excerpts-
  • From the book

    FADE IN:

    EXT. QUAINT DOWNTOWN

    The sun is high and hot in the cloudless sky. The air is thick, and the pavement seems to sizzle.

    PAN DOWN TO:

    EXT. COFFEE SHOP—DAY

    DEE WILKIE is sitting at a table with her best friend, NAZANEEN PARAD, and she is sweating.

    A lot.

    One

    "And thus begins the worst summer of my life." I lean back, kick off my flip-flops underneath the table, and cross my ankles in the empty chair across from me. My thick curls are stuck to the back of my neck. It's only the first day of summer break, still May, but it's already impossibly steamy outside. A south Georgia summer feels sort of like living in an old man's armpit for three months (four in a bad year).

    "Don't be overdramatic," Nazaneen says, never taking her eyes off the baseball game streaming on her phone. The game is the reason we're sitting outside on a day like today. Service is spotty from inside the old brick-and-plaster walls of the Coffee Cup, Wilder's one and only coffeehouse (unless you count the Starbucks inside the Target, which I don't).

    Parking at a table at (or in front of, depending on the Mets' schedule) the Coffee Cup has been part of our summer routine since freshman year, when our parents finally started letting us bike downtown by ourselves. I would sketch while Naz watched Mets games or read recaps or compiled stats, and we'd munch stale pastries and suck down oversugared coffee drinks. But today my sketchbook is lying unopened on the table, a pencil tucked into the elastic band holding the covers shut. I'm carrying it around now mostly out of habit. I haven't felt much like drawing lately, not since I got my rejection letter. But I don't really know what to do with myself without a pencil in my hand. My fingers feel twitchy, and I can't stop fidgeting in my chair. I sketch like some people bite their nails or crack their knuckles. It's a physical impulse, and though I feel miles away from any real desire to do it, my body hasn't quite caught up.

    When Nazaneen's game goes to commercial, she curses the Mets for being down four runs, then glances up at me. "Your summer is going to be fine," she says. She reaches for her iced double-shot mocha and takes a long sip.

    "How is that humanly possible? I have no plans and no best friend, and I'm faced with the prospect of no future," I say. I grimace at the whine that's creeping into my voice, but I can't help it. I wad up my straw wrapper and flick it at her, then give her the most sarcastic double-thumbs-up I can muster. "Yay! Hooray! Best summer ever!"

    Nazaneen rolls her eyes. "You should have applied to the drama department."

    "No, I shouldn't have applied at all and saved myself the rejection," I say. In one week, Naz is leaving for Savannah to spend her summer in the Georgia Governor's Honors School program for STEM. And in one week, I will not be going with her to the Governor's Honors Fine Arts program. Hence, no best friend and no summer plans. I let myself imagine what my summer would be like if I hadn't been rejected. If I were still living in ignorant bliss that I could cut it as an artist instead of sitting here feeling like a big fish stuck swimming in my teeny, tiny pond. But that future has been so thoroughly obliterated that I can barely conjure it anymore. All I see is eight weeks of sitting at this table, alone, sweating and sucking down iced caffeine so I don't die from boredom or heat stroke.

    There's also the chance that I'll be spending the summer filing transcripts at the Wilder...

About the Author-
  • Lauren Morrill is the author of MEANT TO BE, BEING SLOANE JACOBS, and THE TROUBLE WITH DESTINY. She grew up in Maryville, Tennessee, where she was a short-term Girl Scout, a (not-so) proud member of the marching band, and a troublemaking editor for the school newspaper. She lives in Macon, Georgia, with her family, and when she's not writing, she spends a lot of hours on the track getting knocked around playing roller derby.

    laurenmorrill.com
    Follow Lauren on Twitter.
Reviews-
  • Robin Benway, author of Emmy & Oliver, on Meant to Be "Star-crossed characters, hilarious dialogue, and a perfect London setting. I loved Meant to Be!"
  • Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door, on Being Sloane Jacobs "Full of twists and romance."
  • Morgan Matson, author of Since You've Been Gone, on The Trouble with Destiny "I absolutely loved this book. I never wanted this journey to end!"
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Random House Children's Books
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 7 day(s).

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Enhanced Details

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Permissions

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Holds

Total holds:


Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
My Unscripted Life
My Unscripted Life
Lauren Morrill
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel