Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
You Will Be Mine
Cover of You Will Be Mine
You Will Be Mine

Love turns deadly in a new heart-pounding thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Cellar and The Cabin!

ROSES ARE RED
VIOLETS ARE BLUE
WATCH YOUR BACK
I'M COMING FOR YOU

Lylah and her friends can't wait to spend a night out together. Partying is the perfect way to let loose from the stress of life and school, and Lylah hopes that hitting the dance floor with Chace, her best friend, will bring them closer together. She's been crushing on him since they met. If only he thought of her the same way...

The girls are touching up their makeup and the guys are sliding on their coats when the doorbell rings. No one is there. An envelope sits on the doormat. It's an anonymous note addressed to their friend Sonny. A secret admirer? Maybe. They all laugh it off.

Except Sonny never comes home. And a new note arrives:

YOUR TURN

Also by Natasha Preston:
The Cellar
The Cabin
Awake

Love turns deadly in a new heart-pounding thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Cellar and The Cabin!

ROSES ARE RED
VIOLETS ARE BLUE
WATCH YOUR BACK
I'M COMING FOR YOU

Lylah and her friends can't wait to spend a night out together. Partying is the perfect way to let loose from the stress of life and school, and Lylah hopes that hitting the dance floor with Chace, her best friend, will bring them closer together. She's been crushing on him since they met. If only he thought of her the same way...

The girls are touching up their makeup and the guys are sliding on their coats when the doorbell rings. No one is there. An envelope sits on the doormat. It's an anonymous note addressed to their friend Sonny. A secret admirer? Maybe. They all laugh it off.

Except Sonny never comes home. And a new note arrives:

YOUR TURN

Also by Natasha Preston:
The Cellar
The Cabin
Awake

Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
    600
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:
    2 - 3

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Natasha Preston is the New York Times bestselling author of The Cellar. A UK native, she discovered her love of writing when she shared a story online—and hasn't looked back. She enjoys writing romance, thrillers, gritty YA, and the occasional serial killer.

Reviews-
  • Kirkus

    January 1, 2018
    A serial killer terrorizes a group of university friends in the weeks leading up to Valentine's Day.White university student Lylah has complicated feelings about Valentine's Day, as it marks the day her parents died two years prior. Though she has adjusted to her new life at school, where she lives with five friends and housemates, old anxieties arise when her housemates begin receiving mysterious, threatening notes a few weeks before Valentine's Day. What is initially dismissed as a sick holiday prank becomes deadly serious when one of them is discovered brutally murdered on campus. The police become involved, providing rather ineffective security to the group of friends as they are stalked and hunted around town by an unknown murderer. Lylah and her friends jump to a hasty assumption about the killer's identity early on and begin referring to the killer by the name of a former friend whom they suspect, improbably convinced that it must be him, excluding any other possibilities in the process. Classic slasher tropes are invoked frequently and repetitively, to highly implausible effect. The result of these unlikely plot developments, combined with flimsy dialogue and weak characterization, requires so much suspension of disbelief that it renders the story more comical than horrifying.An unconvincing attempt at a holiday-themed thriller. (Thriller. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    February 1, 2018

    Gr 9 Up-The author's latest keeps readers on edge as they are immersed into the daily activities of a group of college students who are dealing with social life, relationships, and a murderer on the loose. The story opens two weeks before Valentine's Day-a holiday Lylah hates because it marks the anniversary of her parents' death. Lylah, Chace, Sienna, Charlotte, Isaac, and Sonny are second-year college housemates who start to receive mysterious letters addressed to certain members of their group. Within a few chapters, two of the friends have been targeted and killed, while the remaining three are fearful for their lives. Lylah is convinced that the murderer is a former spurned lover of hers, and works with her housemates and the police to lure him into a trap. As the murderer becomes more bold, another character is dispatched, prompting Lylah to do whatever it takes to confront the killer. As the story concludes, a final twist wraps up the plot nicely, and readers will be satisfied with the results. The characters in this accessible and engaging read do not disappoint; Preston's thriller vibe throughout is excellently sustained. VERDICT A great addition to the thriller shelves. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Jennifer Barnes, and Ally Carter.-Ruth Stiles, Hammondsport Central School, NY

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    March 12, 2018
    Themes of betrayal and jealousy dominate Preston's (The Cellar) romantic thriller. With Valentine's Day only days away, Lylah is in no mood to celebrate since it's also the second anniversary of her parents' unexpected death. She was 17 and her brother, Riley, was 21 when their parents' car crashed. Finally, her life has regained a sense of normalcy—she's a media student attending college, living off campus with five housemates and even crushing on one of them. But everything changes when an envelope addressed to Sonny, one of her housemates, arrives at their doorstep. Next, Sonny is murdered, his heart removed. Fear and suspicion set in as the police begin investigating the crime, and Lylah fears she could be the next victim. Horror fans may relish the grisly details of the crimes, and Preston is skilled in building an atmosphere of paranoia and claustrophobia, yet readers do not gain a full understanding of character motivations and, as a result, may not be fully invested in their fates. Ages 14-17. Agent: Jon Elek, United Agents.

  • RT Book Reviews "Preston has penned another nail-biting thriller with You Will Be Mine.... If you're looking for a book that will make you skeptical of any valentines you may receive, then You Will Be Mine is the heart-stopping suspense Cupid ordered."
  • School Library Journal "Preston's thriller vibe throughout is excellently sustained. A great addition to the thriller shelves. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Jennifer Barnes, and Ally Carter."
  • VOYA's Teen Perspectives "Preston offers great potential for young adults with You Will Be Mine, particularly high school students. The emotional traumas her characters face allow teens to relate to them as authentic...a fresh take on a murder mystery thriller. Rich with plot twists and suspense, readers will not want to put it down."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 7 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
You Will Be Mine
You Will Be Mine
Natasha Preston
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel